Just another WordPress.com site


On Saturday there was a tragic incident in Toronto at the Eaton Centre shopping mall downtown.  Sadly, a complete idiot decided to fire a gun off in a crowded mall in an act of revenge on some people and in the process hurt many others.

One of those injured was a pregnant lady who was trampled in the rush of people who were running out of fear since the shooter decided, instead of shooting the people he was having issues with, shot his first bullet into the air and thus created a human version of the chaos theory with everyone running like frightened gazelles.  On a positive note, both the mother and newly born child are doing well.

As we were discussing the story the topic of the pregnant lady came up.  Barbie, with a little bit of disgust in her tone of voice, spoke of her displeasure of the crowd’s behaviour.  “I can’t believe they trampeded a pregnant woman.”

“Oh, no kidding”, I said.

At this moment I clued in that something wasn’t quite right.  With my head cocked at a slight angle, much like a confused dog, I asked the question “Wait, what did you call it?  Trampeded?!?”

With a little less certainty Barbie answered.  “Well, I meant Stampled.”

I started snickering at this moment having been witness to another verbal screw up.

With some frustration Barbie groaned, “Argh! Why can’t I say the words I want!!!”

I have to admit she may have gotten it right after that sentence but I couldn’t hear a word poor Barbie was saying.  I was laughing to hard for her to be heard for about the next 20 minutes to be honest.

 

Leave a comment